Local Leaders

The Shambhala Council is the governing body of the Shambhala Meditation Center of Los Angeles. It is comprised of the heads of all the areas in which Shambhala offers programs and events. It takes many individuals to create our LA Shambhala world.  Here’s who we are.

To contact anyone on the list please check your Members/Friends Directory or leave a voice message at the Center.

*denotes membership in the Shambhala Los Angeles Council

Southern California Regional Director: James Kieran Murphy * [email protected]
Shastris: Marcy Fink and Marilyn Moore
Chagdzo: Rich Haluschak*
Center Administrator: Alice Toohey
Local Representative of the Shambhala Office of Culture and Decorum: Carolyn Sykes*

Practice and Education

Director of Practice & Education:  Daniel Siakel*
Vajrayana/Ngöndro Practice Intensive Coordinator: Open
Feast Coordinators: Josh Northcutt and Kate Summers
Meditation Instructor Coordinator: Open
Ashe Society: Karen Schwartzman
Supervising Coordinator of Shambhala Training (Heart of Warriorship): Open
Supervising Coordinator of Way of Shambhala I Weekly Classes: Open
Supervising Coordinator of Sacred Path: Open
Supervising Coordinator of Way of Shambhala II and Buddhist Studies Weekly Classes: Open
Special Programs Coordinator: Kim Christensen
Thursday Night Public Program Coordinator: Cynthia MacKay
Zoom Hosts Coordinator: Open
Vajrayana Education Coordinator: Open
Visiting Teacher Coordinator: Alex Lippman

Contemplative Arts

Director: Anne Saitzyk*
Kado and Ikebana: Susan Morse
Kyudo: Open
Miksang (Contemplative Photography): Darryl Burnham
Contemplative Writing: Debra Dysart
Shambhala Art: Anne Saitzyk
Contemplative Creativity Lab: Darryl Burnham, Debra Dysart, Angela Lloyd, Anne Anderson Saitzyk, Elayne Rail, Carolyn Sykes, Amanda Tasse, Alice Toohey, Ladan Yalzadeh.

Societal Health and Well Being

Director: Jenny Hannah*
Membership Coordinator: Alex Lippman* [email protected]
Families and Children: Todj & Natasha Mandel
Head of Diversity: Open
Hospitality Coordinator: Open
Culture and Decorum: Carolyn Sykes*

Community and Social Transformation

Healing Circle Coordinators: Darryl Burnham, Laura Burnham, Toni Nadratowski
People of Color Meditation Group Coordinators: Tiffany Dixon and Karen Ma
Queer Pride Meditation Group Coordinators: Patsy Brown
Group on Death & Dying Coordinators: Marilyn Moore and Alice Toohey
Young Meditators Coordinators: Josh Northcutt, Alex Lippman
Prison Dharma: Cynthia MacKay, Kate Summers, John MacAdams, Renee Klang
Mental Health Consultation Group for MIs (Developing): Open


Regimental Commander for the Windhorse Regiment: Darryl Burnham*
Regimental Desung Commander: Laura Burnham*
Rusung: Open
Khenchung: Steven Whitacre
Desung: Laura Burnham and Kate Summers
NCO: Open
ROTA coordinator: Steven Whitacre


Director: Rich Haluschak*
Assistant: Open
Development: Open
Bookstore Manager: Amanda Tasse

Communications Mandala

Director of Communications:  [email protected]
Publicity Leads: Open
Head of Outreach: Open
Web and Graphic Consultant: Zach Riddle
Website: Alice Toohey, Claude Zachary (Database/Calendar) and Open (Webmaster)
Email Newsletter: Open
Graphic Arts: Open
Social Media: Open   (Anne Saitzyk)

Information Systems

Archives: Claude Zachary
Audio Visual: John MacAdams
Database Management: Alice Toohey
Digital Audio Archives Supervisor: John MacAdams and Joel Wachbrit

Eagle Rock Meditation Group

Center Director: Renee Klang*
Deputy Coordinator: Open
Eagle Rock Meditation Steering Committee: Open
Environment Mandala: Open
Shrine Keeper: Jonathan Sacks
Umdze/M.I. ROTA: Renee Klang

Westside Meditation Group

Coordinators: Anne Saitzyk & Kate Summers*
Deputy Coordinator: Open
Westside Meditation Steering Committee: Anne Saitzyk, Kathy Gronau, Kate Summers, Tom Gottlieb, Joshua Northcutt, Alex Lippman, Candance Peterson-Kahn, Linda Dare

Orange County Meditation Group

Coordinator: James Murphy
MeetUp Coordinators: Gil Figueroa
Email [email protected] for more information.